Table code no longer available?

Discussion related to board management, suggestions for improvement, and formal announcements.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hugin
Messenger of Odin
Posts: 4198
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 9:40 pm
Gender: male
Location: Fergus, Ontario

Table code no longer available?

Post by Hugin »

Hello folks.

Is there a way to create tables in this version of The Piazza? I had used them in the past and now those ones just show all the code as text.

My main use of it can be seen here.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

MODERATOR NOTE (by Big Mac): I'm pinning your topic, until we get a solution that allows us to get the table tag working on the new forum.

User avatar
Havard
Dragon Turtle
Posts: 21710
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 7:32 pm
Gender: male
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Table code no longer available?

Post by Havard »

Hugin wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 7:12 pm
Hello folks.

Is there a way to create tables in this version of The Piazza? I had used them in the past and now those ones just show all the code as text.

My main use of it can be seen here.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Hi Hugin,
this is an issue that is being discussed by the Moderator Team. Sadly the current version of the forum software does not appear to support javascript which was the basis for how the old tables worked.

So, we are working on it, but it might take a while.

-Havard

Aliases: Håvard Frosta, Havard Blackmoor, Blackmoorian, Dragon Turtle etc
Where to find me on the Web
The Comeback Inn - My Blackmoor Forum
The Blackmoor Blog
THRESHOLD Magazine - The Mystara Fanzine
My Articles at the Vaults of Pandius
Moderator of the Mystara, Blackmoor and Thunder Rift forums.
My moderator voice is
GREEN.

User avatar
Hugin
Messenger of Odin
Posts: 4198
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 9:40 pm
Gender: male
Location: Fergus, Ontario

Re: Table code no longer available?

Post by Hugin »

Thanks Harvard.

It's good to know it's being investigated, even if nothing can be done at the moment.

User avatar
Big Mac
Giant Space Hamster
Posts: 26672
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:52 pm
Gender: male
Location: London UK
Contact:

Re: Table code no longer available?

Post by Big Mac »

Hugin wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 2:49 am
It's good to know it's being investigated, even if nothing can be done at the moment.
I need to chase this up (but I've been busy).

We have a few BBCodes and I checked them all out during the Open Test thinking that they were all broken. Then I found it was just this one. I did mention it, in the Open Test topic, but I should have started a separate topic here. So thanks for doing that.

The bottom line with the table tag is that BBCode does not actually support what it does. Ashtagon originally tried out an earlier system, which was a nightmare that required people to use an Excel sheet to generate the BBCode. That was a nightmare to use and I think I am the only person who ever worked out how to create a table manually. (And I only did it once, to see how hard it was.)

So what Ashtagon did next is work out what would be useful for users and then "cheat" to make BBCode do stuff that it would not do with BBCode tags alone.

The new BBCode parser does not allow cheat mode, so what we need to do is find another way to put Ashtagon's super-special table-creating magic into something that will work with the forum tag.

I've raised a support ticket about this, and we got some advice, but we need to do more research (and maybe ask for a bit more advice).

I am a heavy user of tables myself, so I'm definitely not going to give up on this.

One thing I'm worried about is what is going to happen after we find a fix. There is a small chance that I might need to edit every single post with a table in it to add something (like a full-stop) to trick the forum software into reparsing the code.
David "Big Mac" Shepheard
Please join The Piazza's Facebook group, The Piazza's Facebook page and follow The Piazza's Twitter feed so that you can stay in touch.
Spelljammer 3E Conversion Project - Spelljammer Wiki - The Spelljammer Image Group.
Moderator of the Spelljammer forum (and administrator). My moderator voice is green.

User avatar
Hugin
Messenger of Odin
Posts: 4198
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 9:40 pm
Gender: male
Location: Fergus, Ontario

Re: Table code no longer available?

Post by Hugin »

That's fantastic, Big Mac!

I have no problems fixing my own tables, as I figured I'd have to do that anyway.

User avatar
Ashtagon
Hierarch
Posts: 3929
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 5:45 pm
Gender: female
Location: Hillvale, Isle of Dawn
Contact:

Re: Table code no longer available?

Post by Ashtagon »

Thinking out loud, [is there something we can tag / is it worth tagging] the existing posts that have tables with, so that if it turns out they do need fixing (rather than merely fixing the bbcode at a central level), they would be easier to find?
Emma Rome, otherwise known as Ashtagon
Image
Overall site admin for The Piazza. My moderator colour is pink!

User avatar
Big Mac
Giant Space Hamster
Posts: 26672
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:52 pm
Gender: male
Location: London UK
Contact:

Re: Table code no longer available?

Post by Big Mac »

Ashtagon wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 6:00 am
Thinking out loud, [is there something we can tag / is it worth tagging] the existing posts that have tables with, so that if it turns out they do need fixing (rather than merely fixing the bbcode at a central level), they would be easier to find?
I suspect we would need to get Chimpman to design an SQL search for table tags that returns a long list of post numbers. Then do something with them to hack them into the working URLs and go through them one by one to fix the posts.

If we created a fake tag using something that would not appear on the forums (i.e. an "[abracadabra]" tag - but not that now, as I've just typed it) we would be able to try doing an SQL search that is not expected to return dozens or hundreds of results. :)

But first, I need to figure out where we can move your magic table generating stuff, and still get to it.

I don't know my way around the phpBB forums yet, but I actually think it would be useful for your miniature computer program to be turned into a "forum mod" that was available to other people (so that the community over there was more inclined to support it, when they upgrade).
David "Big Mac" Shepheard
Please join The Piazza's Facebook group, The Piazza's Facebook page and follow The Piazza's Twitter feed so that you can stay in touch.
Spelljammer 3E Conversion Project - Spelljammer Wiki - The Spelljammer Image Group.
Moderator of the Spelljammer forum (and administrator). My moderator voice is green.

User avatar
Tim Baker
Axe Beak
Posts: 3584
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:51 am
Gender: male
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Table code no longer available?

Post by Tim Baker »

Tables came up on Discord, so I did some googling on the topic. Have you looked into the existing extensions? While an extension isn't a standard, this one seems to come up in every thread I've pulled up in my search: https://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtop ... &t=2386686

It's been around for four years, so it seems stable. Its syntax is different form the old tables, but it would provide a path forward. A TamperMonkey script could likely convert the old table into the new syntax within the user's browser. That wouldn't be an automted fix. The creator (or an admin) would need to install the TamperMonkey script and touch each table. We may never get them all. But it would allow for forward progress using tables, and a manual way to clean up the tables that people care enough about to revisit.

Just a thought.

User avatar
Big Mac
Giant Space Hamster
Posts: 26672
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:52 pm
Gender: male
Location: London UK
Contact:

Re: Table code no longer available?

Post by Big Mac »

Tim Baker wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:38 pm
Tables came up on Discord, so I did some googling on the topic. Have you looked into the existing extensions? While an extension isn't a standard, this one seems to come up in every thread I've pulled up in my search: https://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtop ... &t=2386686

It's been around for four years, so it seems stable. Its syntax is different form the old tables, but it would provide a path forward. A TamperMonkey script could likely convert the old table into the new syntax within the user's browser. That wouldn't be an automted fix. The creator (or an admin) would need to install the TamperMonkey script and touch each table. We may never get them all. But it would allow for forward progress using tables, and a manual way to clean up the tables that people care enough about to revisit.

Just a thought.
Thanks Tim!

It looks like this is broken, at the moment, but the fix will probably be up, before we finished researching this.

I can't see an example of the BBCode they are using for this extension, but I'm guessing that this would not use the same syntax that Ashtagon came up with.

So, it would give us a way forward, but we would have a ton of existing posts with broken tables in.

I don't think the search system locates BBCode (just content), but I think that Chimpman could probably help me design an SQL query that would give us a list of all the forum posts that have tables in.

You are right that an admin would have to fix posts, if the creator didn't do it. (Unless we had something that could crawl through the posts and edit them without killing the forum.

But the first step would be a feasibility study, to see if this is something that we want to spend time on.
David "Big Mac" Shepheard
Please join The Piazza's Facebook group, The Piazza's Facebook page and follow The Piazza's Twitter feed so that you can stay in touch.
Spelljammer 3E Conversion Project - Spelljammer Wiki - The Spelljammer Image Group.
Moderator of the Spelljammer forum (and administrator). My moderator voice is green.

Post Reply

Return to “The Kippin' Griffin”