Spirit Folk: Mythological origins?

A place where the monk class won't feel like an oddball. Kara-Tur can be discussed in the FR sub-forum. Rokugan, Mahasarpa and other Asian-themed worlds can be discussed here.
The Book-House: Find Oriental Adventures products.
pawsplay
Ogre

Spirit Folk: Mythological origins?

Post by pawsplay » Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:25 am

I'm pretty familiar with the concept, in general, of people having parents who are "spirits." However, I am not an expert on Chinese and Japanese mythology. Are there any specific stories or representations that seemed to have inspired the Oriental Adventures spirit folk? Why bamboo, river, and sea spirit folk, and not, say, mountain? Does anyone else find it convincing that they are treated as humanoids in 3e and not fey? ... or native outsider?

Big Mac
Giant Space Hamster

Re: Spirit Folk: Mythological origins?

Post by Big Mac » Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:32 pm

Good question (to which I don't, unfortunately, know the answer).

I suppose that when you import Chinese and Japanese themes into an "Oriental" campaign setting, there are a number of ways that you could choose to implement it.

I can't see any logical flaw in any of the ways that you suggested this could be done. Maybe it is just a case of 3e's designers doing what would be right for the previous Legend of the Five Rings game (and bringing that into the D&D rules).

I'd be interested to see if Kara-Tur's Oriental Adventures did this differently. (Maybe we should compare the two rulebooks sometime to see if the universal laws work differently - in another thread).
David "Big Mac" Shepheard
Please join The Piazza's Facebook group, The Piazza's Facebook page and follow The Piazza's Twitter feed so that you can stay in touch.
Spelljammer 3E Conversion Project - Spelljammer Wiki - The Spelljammer Image Group.
Moderator of the Spelljammer forum (and administrator). My moderator voice is green.

Michael Tumey
Bugbear