Lifejammer Prison ship

"Let us create vessels and sails adjusted to the heavenly aether, and there will be plenty of people unafraid of the empty wastes." — Kepler
The Book-House: Find Spelljammer products.

Moderators: night_druid, Big Mac

Jaid
Fire Giant
Posts: 1065
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:26 am

Re: Lifejammer Prison ship

Post by Jaid » Tue May 15, 2018 8:02 am

the rules for lifejammers don't say anything one way or the other about swarms, it's the rules for swarms that say something about swarms, and for some, it says that the swarm is treated as a creature. the rules for lifejammers are perfectly clear on what happens if you put a creature in them.

Dalillama
Hobgoblin
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:52 am
Gender: female

Re: Lifejammer Prison ship

Post by Dalillama » Tue May 15, 2018 8:11 am

2e hasn't got general rules for swarms. Rules for swarming insects are ad hoc, found in the entry for the particular creature, and don't mention anything about hit dice or treating a swarm as a creature. E.g.. 3.5e has rules for swarms, but does not cover Lifejammer helms. Therefore, the two rules do not coexist in the same ruleset, and it's fairly clear that per the 2e rules a swarm would absolutely not count.

User avatar
AuldDragon
White Dragon
Posts: 2118
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:28 am
Gender: male
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Contact:

Re: Lifejammer Prison ship

Post by AuldDragon » Tue May 15, 2018 4:06 pm

Jaid wrote:
Tue May 15, 2018 6:04 am
swarms aren't individuals, but some swarms are *treated* as individuals. if we're going with "here's how it works, because the rules say so", then a swarm that is treated as an individual creature should work, even if it is not actually an individual creature.
A swarm or collective is treated as individuals for certain combat purposes, only. If it makes a DM's life easier, they could treat a military squad of humans as a "single creature" for HD/attacks purposes, but that doesn't mean a character could use a Wand of Paralyzation to paralyze the whole group at once. They're still individuals, even if they're collected into one single unit for the abstract mathematical purposes of certain game rules.

Jeff
Let's Play Old Games with AuldDragon (Youtube) | My 2nd Edition Blog
Monster Mythology Update Project | Spelljammer Livestream Campaign
"That sums it up in a nutshell, AuldDragon. You make a more convincing argument. But he's right and you're not."

Jaid
Fire Giant
Posts: 1065
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:26 am

Re: Lifejammer Prison ship

Post by Jaid » Tue May 15, 2018 10:52 pm

there aren't general rules for swarms. but there is a swarm that explicitly says it counts as a 4 hit die creature.

again, if we're trying to claim that we're just following the rules, that specific swarm (and any others i may not have noticed that use the same rule) don't counts as a single creature. not for a specific purpose, but as a general rule.

Post Reply

Return to “Spelljammer”