[art] Wikipedia artwork request

"Let us create vessels and sails adjusted to the heavenly aether, and there will be plenty of people unafraid of the empty wastes." — Kepler
The Book-House: Find Spelljammer products.

Moderators: Big Mac, night_druid

Big Mac
Giant Space Hamster

[art] Wikipedia artwork request

Post by Big Mac » Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:10 am

This is an art request for Wikipedia (that is Wikipedia - not the Spelljammer Wiki). I've noticed that the Beholder article has fan art on it, but the Giff article doesn't. I would like to get that corrected (and add in the infobox that contains the picture and stats), but I'm not very good at drawing.

So what I would like is for someone to make a picture of a Giff that can be uploaded to Wikipedia and incorporated into the Giff article. It doesn't need to be very pretty. Have a look at the quality of the Beholder artwork and you will see what I mean.

Beholder image from Wikipedia

I have uploaded a couple of Spelljammer images to Wikipedia before, but because I didn't "fill out the paperwork correctly" they got pulled off of the article I added them to and deleted. :( If you have a look at the page that the Beholder artwork lives on, you will see that it explains why it is "allowed to be on Wikipedia". I don't want to be accidentally breaking one of those rules (again) and then coming back here to ask for another picture. So just to be on the safe side before anyone does any work, this article needs:
  1. Totally original artwork - so no grabbing TSR pictures (or anybody else's SJ fan artwork for that matter) - and tracing outlines from someone else's artwork is also probably bad
  2. Artwork that is freely given to Wikipedia for any purpose - Wikipedia is published under the GNU Free Documentation License and anything uploaded to it can be copied and used elsewhere (under that licence).
That is the legalese blurb out of the way.

Here is what the article needs from a creative point of view: