Tim Beach's Black Steel setting

Discuss Mystara's Savage Coast / Red Steel setting here.
The Book-House: Find Savage Coast products.

Moderators: Seer of Yhog, Havard, agathokles

Tim Beach
Orc

Tim Beach's Black Steel setting

Post by Tim Beach » Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:39 am

[Moderator's note: as requested, I've split the Black Steel discussion from its original context.]

From agathokles:
The remaining would have been all very interesting -- Hule being especially important as the link between Savage Coast and the rest of the world.
Exactly -- It would have been a transition to allow crossover campaigns.
I'd also liked to see what ideas would have been developed for the Inheritor Orders and their connections to the aligned societies from the old Savage Coast adventure.
That would have been a lot of fun. I have a history degree, and drawing the links from past to present is something I've really enjoyed. The whole alignment issue is also intriguing; in OD&D (red box), it was law vs. chaos. Was there some event, like those we've seen in the Forgotten Realms, that switched how things worked? Did good and evil become the dominant conflict? Or is law vs. chaos more important? Are elves typically lawful good here? (In OD&D, they were lawful.) Do we see alliances of lawful creatures across the good/evil divide, to promote order, against chaotic creatures, also good and evil, who support personal freedoms?
P.S.: I'd really like to read Black Steel, and I guess the Ravenloft crowd would also like it.
Well ... I've been thinking about something like that, a setting which would fit into the general Red Steel paradigm. There are a couple of directions I could go. On the fan side, I could perhaps put together the original Black Steel island for Ravenloft. Even a rough outline, 8-16 pages maybe, which might not take terribly long to do, could be worthwhile.