Great School of Magic /Glantri City

Weird red metals, dominions, immortals, hollow planets, invisible moons, and a lot of glorified magic zeppelins. It's all here.
The Book-House: Find Mystara products, Find Known World products.

Moderators: Havard, Seer of Yhog, Cthulhudrew, Gawain_VIII

Great School of Magic /Glantri City

Postby Robin » Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:24 pm

While delving through my old stuf as in that post with the same name....I retrieved an old isometric picture of the Great School of Magic in Glantri.
While examaning it to redraw (it is way too damaged by mouse urine and nibbling to reveal)...I studied th scale I used and the scale used in the Gaz 3 and GKoM maps.
Some things I noted;
First the City map on the back of the Glantri national map has NO scale at all.Neither in Gaz 3 nor GKoM.
Secondly the scale which was used to determine the size of the Great School of Magic (1 inch = 20'). This would give a very small school, even todays smaller universities have much vaster areas, so I thought while making the Isometric map that something must be wrong.
Examining the Western side of the GSM which is 4 inch thus according the scale 80'
Refferring that to the City of Glantri map, where the same side is measured 60 mm (using the metric system which is more detailed).
as such 60 mm would be 80' and thus 6 mm would be 8'.
checking that size to buildings, structures and vessels on the map which all seem to be in the same scale. I see many, many areas where there is aple space to turn one's ass...let alone function in it.
mini godolas 0.8 mm width =less than 1.5 feet width??, Small Galley 2 mm width gives a small galley of 2.6 feet wide also very small and unusable for transport, letvalone the crew needed. referring this back to normal sizes The scales should at least be doubled to be functional.