Mystara Campaign for my kids

Weird red metals, dominions, immortals, hollow planets, invisible moons, and a lot of glorified magic zeppelins. It's all here.
The Book-House: Find Mystara products, Find Known World products.

Moderators: Seer of Yhog, Gawain_VIII, Havard, Cthulhudrew

Thorf
Cartomancer

Mystara Campaign for my kids

Post by Thorf » Mon May 20, 2019 2:48 am

I'm pondering running a series of adventures for my kids, currently 9 and 7 years old.

I already ran each of them in turn through the red box Aleena/Bargle solo adventure, to give them an idea for how the game works. But of course that ends up with each of them having a fighter.

Now I'm thinking of introducing them to the other character classes and getting them to start new characters. But what to play?

I'd love to have a go at running B10, as I've never done it before. And I think they will really enjoy the siege part. Also, my son is crazy about maps (big surprise, eh? :geek: ) so I think he might enjoy the revelation of the tapestry being meant to be a map.

But what to run beforehand? I'm not familiar with any of the B series adventures. Should I run them through the red box DM's book adventure?

Another thing I'm wondering about is whether some of the black box adventures might be more suitable, given that we could use the board and figures. (This is partly why B10 is attractive, too.) I have played Zanzer Tem's dungeon in the past, and also Rage of the Rakasta, but none of the others. If I were to use one of these, which would you recommend? Would you advise using Thunder Rift, or avoiding it and just placing the adventure in Karameikos? Especially given that B10 ought to begin pretty soon after that adventure.

Despite all my experience with maps, I'm at best a novice DM, and other than a short stint in 2016 I haven't DM'ed in years — and never for my kids yet. If you have any advice of that sort, I'd love to hear it too.

Thanks!

Yaztromo
The Real Nowhere Man