What happens if a target is hit by dominate from 2 entities?

Published 2000 & 2003.
The Book-House: Find 3.0 Edition products, Find 3.5 Edition products.

Moderator: Blacky the Blackball

Post Reply
NPCDave
Stone Giant
Posts: 752
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 2:11 am
Gender: male

What happens if a target is hit by dominate from 2 entities?

Post by NPCDave » Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:56 am

This question is coming up for my next Theshold magazine article, if anyone knows of any rules regarding this in any edition, please let me know. I chose to post here in 3rd Edition since it had more of a formalized format for contesting actions. But any edition ruleset that covers this would be fine.

The spells for dominate person and charm person are very clear. But what happens if the target is hit by the exact same spell a second time by a different spellcaster and the target fails the save a second time?

In theory, both spells are in effect, so both entities have control(in the dominate person scenario) or at least have the target charmed(in the charm person scenario). As long as the two entities don't give conflicting commands, everything is fine.

But what happens when they do give conflicting commands? As in the target is told simultaneously to attack the other entity by both entities? Does the target stand there and do nothing? Suffer confusion? Get new saving throws? Or do both entities vie for control in some kind of contested action and the winner gets the target to do what he wants?

As I said any suggestion on where to look for rules on this is appreciated.

User avatar
timemrick
Hekatonkhieres
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:33 am
Gender: male
Location: Emirate of Kobara
Contact:

Re: What happens if a target is hit by dominate from 2 entit

Post by timemrick » Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:47 pm

See the Player's Handbook v.3.5, p. 172, under "Multiple Mental Control Effects."

The SRD version is here, but leaves out the examples.
Tim Emrick, Green Ronin Freebooter and Keeper of the Freeport Errata
Time of the Tarrasque: My homebrew Pathfinder campaign (2017-).
Studded Plate: My blog about RPGs and LEGO.
Thastygliax's Vault: My other gaming pages.

NPCDave
Stone Giant
Posts: 752
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 2:11 am
Gender: male

Re: What happens if a target is hit by dominate from 2 entit

Post by NPCDave » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:04 pm

Perfect!

Thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “D&D 3rd Edition”