The Book-House: Find Classic D&D (BECMI) products.
Moderators: Idabrius, Blacky the Blackball, Idabrius, Blacky the Blackball, Idabrius, Blacky the Blackball, Idabrius, Blacky the Blackball, Idabrius, Blacky the Blackball, Idabrius, Blacky the Blackball
- Green Dragon
- Posts: 4033
- Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 2:13 pm
- Gender: male
- Location: Long Beach, CA
However, the Artifact rules from Wrath of the Immortals (Codex of the Immortals: Book One, p 87) changes this, and includes rules for how to calculate the enhancement bonuses of weapon/armor vessels, as well as including most of the Talents from the armor and weapon rules (Cyclopedia, Expert/Companion/Master sets) in the Powers tables of the Artifact lists (those Talents that don't already have corresponding equivalents; Translating, for example, isn't included, because there is already a Comprehend Languages power for Artifacts).
For my part, I'm inclined to go with the original read on things (ie, inherent powers of the vessels are separate from those powers and the Power Level of the Artifact). Mechanically, I'm not sure why an Artifact flaming sword +1 wouldn't be able to stay flaming continuously as would a regular (non-artifact) version of the same, but would instead "flame out" when it uses up its PP for the day.
At the same time, though, I can't help but notice that one of the example artifacts- Ortnit's Lance of Doom- seems to present itself contrary to the vessel rules. Specifically, while its function as a lance +5, +10 vs. Giants does operate independently of its other Artifact powers, it's weapon talent of Translating has an associated PP cost with it.
Anyone else out there have any thoughts on which way to handle Artifact vessels seems to work best?
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:17 pm
- Gender: male
- Location: Michigan, United States
As to the example of Ortnit's Lance of Doom, I'm guessing that was an editing error.