[novel] Tales of Peril

The totally-official, off-topic, liable-for-purging board.

Moderator: Chimpman

[novel] Tales of Peril

Postby Big Mac » Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:37 pm

RobJN wrote about listening to extracts of Tales of Peril at NTRPG Con in a topic about the convention:
RobJN wrote:I sat in on the J. Eric Holmes panel, where his son, Chris, fielded questions and then read an excerpt from the forthcoming Tales of Peril compilation of the good professor’s D&D fiction. This is one I think I might have to get — it was dripping with good ol’ dungeon-crawling atmosphere.

I know very little of Holmes, as I started playing D&D before my time, but the idea that there is a bunch of short stories set (possibly) in his campaign setting, is interesting.

I went looking for it, but I've not turned anything up yet, although The Arcaeum said it was going to be published last year. Obviously, there has been a delay, as RobJN was told it was a "forthcoming" book, but I don't see anything like a preorder page on Amazon.

Does anyone know where/when this is going on sale? Is it something on Kickstarter (for example)?

Is there a bespoke campaign setting in Holmes D&D (that is different from Mystara and the OD&D settings of Blackmoor and Greyhawk)? If so do we have any evidence that these stories are set in that setting?
David "Big Mac" Shepheard
Newsflash!: The Piazza is moving!
Please join The Piazza's Facebook group, The Piazza's Facebook page and The Piazza's Google + community so that you can stay in touch.
Spelljammer 3E Conversion Project - Spelljammer Wiki - The Spelljammer Image Group.
Moderator of the Spelljammer forum. My moderator voice is green.
Big Mac
Giant Space Hamster

Re: [novel] Tales of Peril

Postby Tim Baker » Thu Jun 09, 2016 9:38 pm

I wonder if anyone from the Blueholme community could answer your questions. Do you know if any of them frequent The Piazza?
Image My Google+ RPG-related posts. | Image Escalation! fanzine for 13th Age.
Tim Baker
Axe Beak