If you have a chance,are you willing to sell your world?

The totally-official, off-topic, liable-for-purging board.

Moderator: Chimpman

If you have a chance,are you willing to sell your world?

Postby sam » Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:12 am

Such as sell your campaign setting to WotC,let them make a lot of changes to your first draft,and then put on the D&D logo to sale - although I think they are unlikely to buy any ideas at now...... ;) I think if you sell your world,then you will lose control to own world(At least to a large extent).You will share it with other creators, while sharing means disagreement.What do you think?
sam
Hobgoblin

Re: If you have a chance,are you willing to sell your world?

Postby RobJN » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:07 am

In a sense, writing for the DM's Guild is like this, on a much, much smaller scale.

The rest, here, I am prefacing with the usual "This is not legal advice, I am not a lawyer, seek professional counsel if you have further questions" disclaimers. That being said...

Because it isn't work for hire, or outright sold to WotC, like the settings for their setting search competition from many years back, you get to keep many of the rights you would normally have to give up when you submit your work to the DM's Guild. Your stuff, If I remember right, stays your stuff.. but you also grant WotC and other Guild writers license to use what you've submitted to the pool of content*

*Play with impunity and use the entirety of the 5e ruleset if you write directly and explicitly for the Forgotten Realms or Ravenloft settings; otherwise, your content has to be setting-agnostic (aka "vanilla").
Rob
Thorn's Chronicle: The Thread Index|Thorn's Chronicle Blog
My articles at the Vaults of Pandius; My W.O.I.N. adventure in ENWorld's EONS Patreon #56.
Follow Thorn's Chronicle on Facebook | G+ | twitter
RobJN
Dire Flumph

Postby Havard » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:26 am

Depends on the world.