My problem with Evil in Star Wars

'A long time ago in a galaxy far far away..." Discuss the Star Wars campaign setting, as it relates to pen & paper RPGs, here.
Sturm
Green Dragon

My problem with Evil in Star Wars

Post by Sturm » Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:28 am

I think I have a problem with evil in Star Wars and I'm going to ask if someone else had similar thoughts or if the matter has already been discussed at lenght among fans (I'm not an expert on SW messageboards or sites even if I've always followed the Saga).
The problem to me was exacerbated by Kylo Ren in Episode 7 (not seen yet Episode 8 so please no spoilers). Unless there is some incredible revelation in episode 8 (but for the little discussions I've seen, I bet there isn't) he seems to have become evil by Force, i.e. by Magic, without a credible motivation. I mean your parents and your teacher are literally the coolest people in the Galaxy so what you are angry for? In my experience, and in the experience of psicologists and social workers worldwide, good or at least pretty decent people do not produce evil sons. You had to have really, really bad parents to become Evil, or no parents at all and be left to yourself in the cruel world. Unattentive or busy parents may produce jaded, spoiled childrens, but not evil ones.
I just cannot buy him, he defies my suspension of disbelief. I can believe he has magical powers, but not that he is Evil and willing to kill his own father.. with just a passing doubt. For what? To imitate a grandfather whom, anyway, had theorically achieved redemption at the end of Episode 6? It makes no sense.