Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
Post Reply
User avatar
Havard
Dragon Turtle
Posts: 20202
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 7:32 pm
Gender: male
Location: Norway
Contact:

Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by Havard » Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:32 pm

Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons, such as two revolvers or say a sword and a dagger?

-Havard

Aliases: Håvard Frosta, Havard Blackmoor, Blackmoorian, Dragon Turtle etc
Where to find me on the Web
The Comeback Inn - My Blackmoor Forum
The Blackmoor Blog
THRESHOLD Magazine - The Mystara Fanzine
My Articles at the Vaults of Pandius
Moderator of the Mystara, Blackmoor and Thunder Rift forums.
My moderator voice is
GREEN.

agathokles
Red Dragon
Posts: 7690
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 6:42 pm
Gender: male
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by agathokles » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:38 pm

IIRC, no. Having two revolvers merely delays the need to recharge, and sword and dagger don't really give any benefit, except that it is more difficult to disarm you, and you might opt to throw the dagger...

You might want to allow two attacks, but they'd probably suffer a die penalty each in CoC7e (as do multiple shots).

GP

User avatar
Havard
Dragon Turtle
Posts: 20202
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 7:32 pm
Gender: male
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by Havard » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:32 pm

agathokles wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:38 pm
IIRC, no. Having two revolvers merely delays the need to recharge, and sword and dagger don't really give any benefit, except that it is more difficult to disarm you, and you might opt to throw the dagger...

You might want to allow two attacks, but they'd probably suffer a die penalty each in CoC7e (as do multiple shots).
Thanks!

I saw an online house rule suggesting to allow attacking with the off hand weapon at 20% of your skill and then use the split skill rule to get a 2nd attack once you gain a weapon skill above 100%, but I think that was for a different version of BRP. I havent played with the 7e version of CoC yet, but that's worth considering.

-Havard

Aliases: Håvard Frosta, Havard Blackmoor, Blackmoorian, Dragon Turtle etc
Where to find me on the Web
The Comeback Inn - My Blackmoor Forum
The Blackmoor Blog
THRESHOLD Magazine - The Mystara Fanzine
My Articles at the Vaults of Pandius
Moderator of the Mystara, Blackmoor and Thunder Rift forums.
My moderator voice is
GREEN.

agathokles
Red Dragon
Posts: 7690
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 6:42 pm
Gender: male
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by agathokles » Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:16 pm

Havard wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:32 pm
I saw an online house rule suggesting to allow attacking with the off hand weapon at 20% of your skill and then use the split skill rule to get a 2nd attack once you gain a weapon skill above 100%, but I think that was for a different version of BRP. I havent played with the 7e version of CoC yet, but that's worth considering.
Indeed it is a different version. I don't remember skills over 100% in CoC, though.

GP

User avatar
BlackBat242
Dire Haggis
Posts: 1608
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:09 am
Gender: other
Location: by the saline water - formerly in the Grand Valley of the Rivers

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by BlackBat242 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:33 am

There are no renegade Drow rangers in Lovecraft.
Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam.
"I have a catapult. Give me your money or I will hurl a large rock at your head".

"Buffy, Blade... its up to you now." George Takei

The only time a Vampire should sparkle is right before they explode

User avatar
Havard
Dragon Turtle
Posts: 20202
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 7:32 pm
Gender: male
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by Havard » Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:13 pm

BlackBat242 wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:33 am
There are no renegade Drow rangers in Lovecraft.
Perhaps there should be? ;)

Full disclosure: I am looking at a running a historical game, either in the Old West or the Musketeer Era. In both cases, wielding a weapon in each hand might be appropriate. I am still debating on whether I want to include the Mythos or whether I should just run a variant of BRP though.
agathokles wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:16 pm
Havard wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:32 pm
I saw an online house rule suggesting to allow attacking with the off hand weapon at 20% of your skill and then use the split skill rule to get a 2nd attack once you gain a weapon skill above 100%, but I think that was for a different version of BRP. I havent played with the 7e version of CoC yet, but that's worth considering.
Indeed it is a different version. I don't remember skills over 100% in CoC, though.
Yes, I believe these rules were introduced in the Stormbringer RPG, but later made it to other versions of BRP too.

-Havard

Aliases: Håvard Frosta, Havard Blackmoor, Blackmoorian, Dragon Turtle etc
Where to find me on the Web
The Comeback Inn - My Blackmoor Forum
The Blackmoor Blog
THRESHOLD Magazine - The Mystara Fanzine
My Articles at the Vaults of Pandius
Moderator of the Mystara, Blackmoor and Thunder Rift forums.
My moderator voice is
GREEN.

agathokles
Red Dragon
Posts: 7690
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 6:42 pm
Gender: male
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by agathokles » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:07 pm

Havard wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:13 pm
Yes, I believe these rules were introduced in the Stormbringer RPG, but later made it to other versions of BRP too.
I have Stormbringer somewhere in my library -- I bought the Italian translation two years ago, although I never used it. I'll check it when I'm home.

GP

User avatar
Cthulhudrew
Green Dragon
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 2:13 pm
Gender: male
Location: Long Beach, CA

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by Cthulhudrew » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:56 pm

I don't recall there being any, either. CoC is relatively rules light when it comes to combat, as it isn't really geared towards that kind of gaming. I think you would definitely need to flesh out some of the rules for a more action-oriented Old West style game (combat certainly; not just weapons combat, but possibly some other things like diving for cover, lassoing foes, swinging from chandeliers, etc.)
Moderator of the Mystara and Greyhawk forums. My moderator voice is gray-green.
Image

User avatar
Boneguard
Deep One Priest
Posts: 1047
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:00 pm
Gender: male
Location: Gatineau (Quebec) Canada

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by Boneguard » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:37 am

It is possible in Chaosium original RuneQuest and the 2nd edition so might be in the BRP. But I agree I don't think CoC technically covers that. As Agathokles, mentioned applying the same penalty as multiple shots might work though.
Roleplaying is not a Hobby...it's a Way of Life.

Consolidated projet thread

agathokles
Red Dragon
Posts: 7690
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 6:42 pm
Gender: male
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by agathokles » Wed Mar 13, 2019 1:47 pm

Checked Stormbringer, I didn't find any rules for two weapon fighting.
G

User avatar
BlackBat242
Dire Haggis
Posts: 1608
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:09 am
Gender: other
Location: by the saline water - formerly in the Grand Valley of the Rivers

Re: Does CoC have rules for dual wielding weapons?

Post by BlackBat242 » Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:41 am

Havard wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:13 pm
BlackBat242 wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:33 am
There are no renegade Drow rangers in Lovecraft.
Perhaps there should be? ;)

Full disclosure: I am looking at a running a historical game, either in the Old West or the Musketeer Era. In both cases, wielding a weapon in each hand might be appropriate.

-Havard
Historically, especially with firearms, one-handed weapons held one in each hand tended to be used alternately (first one was fired, then the other - at about the same combined rate-of-fire as one weapon had). The main advantage was thus in the ability to fire more shots before having to change weapons or reload, not in a higher fire-rate. Firing both at the same time was usually only done for specially-practiced trick shots or for "spray & pray" suppressive area fire, not aimed shots.

Only a few fighting styles, almost always with melee weapons, used both weapons as part of a single attack sequence with a faster combined rate of actions than one single weapon usually produced.
Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam.
"I have a catapult. Give me your money or I will hurl a large rock at your head".

"Buffy, Blade... its up to you now." George Takei

The only time a Vampire should sparkle is right before they explode

Post Reply

Return to “Call of Cthulhu”