Havard wrote: ↑
Sun Jun 14, 2020 4:29 pm
The idea that you can have the mount move its full move, then dismount and make your own full move afterwards is a bit odd to me, but what do you guys think?
I would rule that this falls under the "Using Different Speeds" section on page 190 of the PHB. It describes movement between different speeds (such as walking and flying) and tells you to subtract the distance already traveled from the new speed when switching.
It gives an example of having a walking speed of 30 and a flying speed of 60 (from a fly spell). You could fly 20 feet, walk 10 feet, then fly again for 30 feet. After flying for 20 and walking for 10, you can't walk for anymore distance because you've moved 30 feet and have a walking speed of 30, although you could continue to fly for another 30 feet for a total move of 60 feet (your fly speed).
I think this applies perfectly for movement with mounts, treating the mount's movement as a "different speed", even if they were the same by some coincidence. Using an example of your walking speed of 30 and your warhorse's of 60, you could move 10 feet, mount the warhorse by spending 15 feet (half your speed), then ride for another 35 feet.
Or, you could ride for 10 feet, dismount (costing 15 feet), then move 5 feet.
Do you require both rider and mount to take the disengage action in order to avoid provoking Attacks of Opportunity?
Given these two statements under "Controlling a Mount" (page 198), the first being "[a controlled mount] has only three action options: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge.", and the second being, "if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it...", it seems clear that a mount can provoke opportunity attacks and avoid them via the disengage action.
The real question then is, is the rider still required to use the disengage action? Since I can't find anything in the rules that suggests the normal opportunity attack rules no longer apply when mounted, I'd say the rider still has to use the disengage action. The additional rules for mounts are really just reiterating the normal rules and confirms that they apply to creatures used as mounts.
This makes it possible to have just one of the rider or mount provoke the OA. If engaged with only a single foe you have the option to forego using disengage and the foe can only attack one rider or mount but not both (OA costs a reaction). And if you have the "Mounted Combatant" feat you can force the OA to be against yourself and not the mount.
How do you explain situations where a rider succeeds his saving throw, but a mount fails?
This really depends on the save and effect. You could visualize it as one partially shielding the other.